Introduction: Martin Lenz

Hello! I’m Martin, a professor of philosophy at the Department of the History of Philosophy at the University of Groningen and a founding member of the Groningen Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Thought. Before joining the philosophy faculty at Groningen in 2012, I studied in Bochum, Budapest and Hull (PhD in 2001 in Bochum with a study on Ockham’s theory of mental language) and spent my postdoctoral period in Cambridge, Tübingen and Berlin (Habilitation in 2009 with a study on Locke’s philosophy of language).

As you might guess, I have a special interest in the history of semantics and I like to look at continuities between areas and periods that are often studied in isolation. So I’m interested in early medieval and later medieval philosophy as well as medieval and early modern philosophy. The crucial thing I’ve learned in this field is that work can only thrive as a collaborative enterprise. That’s why it’s a great thing that we now have this blog.

Feel free to contact me via mail or visit my webpage.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

