Introduction – Simon Hewitt

Hi, I’m Simon and I teach formal philosophy in the School of Philosophy, Religion, and History of Science at the University of Leeds. I did my PhD at Birkbeck College in the University of London, focusing on plural interpretations of second-order logic, and relating these to foundational issues in the philosophy of mathematics. I received my doctorate at the end of 2012, taught informally at Birkbeck for a little while, and came to Leeds at the beginning of this academic year.

As this would suggest, my work has focused on logic and the foundations of mathematics (with the occasional flirtation with metaphysics along the way). However, I’ve always combined this with an interest in the history of the subject. Exposure to debates around nonclassical logics and the nature of logical consequence has provided the opportunity to marry this with a lifelong fascination with things medieval. I’m developing a research interest in the thorny issue of what follows from a contradiction, and in particular in one answer, popular in the Middle Ages but little heard of today: nothing whatsoever.

This is closely associated with so-called connexive principles, and I’m keen to relate the contemporary revival of connexive logics back to the historical debate about consequence. Another thing salient to the concerns of this blog that I’d like to explore if I ever get the time is whether Aquinas had any significantly distinctive views on logic, as well as a (possibly related) investigation of his commentary on the Posterior Analytics.

Apart from all this, I continue to research and teach modern philosophical logic, and especially the logic of plurals and its possible mathematical applications. I can be got interested in most philosophical or logical topics. You can find my academia.edu page here. A homepage of sorts, with a particularly alarming photo of me, is here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

